Over 439.5K Daily Active Readers:

Pageant Image

Miss World America

  • 9229 Sunset Boulevard, West Hollywood, CA, USA

Miss World America (MWA) is the U.S. franchise of Miss World, the oldest and the largest international pageant, gathering representatives from 140 countries to compete for the crown.

Every year, through the system of state directorship licenses, Miss World America runs state pageants to select the most qualified delegate from each state in the country and hosts the national final to identify and crown the next Miss World America. Miss World America title holder then goes on to represent the United States in the Miss World contest.

MWA and Miss World attract millions of young women from all backgrounds, who compete and passionately follow our organization and its events.

Our mission statement is “Beauty With A Purpose”, ensuring everyone involved with MWA actively engages in bettering the lives of the underprivileged and less fortunate.


On the 19 April 1951 national representatives from 26 countries travelled to London for the first Miss World as part of the Festival of Britain celebrations, which saw Kiki Haakinson from Sweden crowned the Miss World in the Lyceum Ballroom in London in what was originally intended to be a one-off. Little did she know she would be part of a legacy that would continue for 70 years. Today, more than 140 countries compete for the Miss World Crown. 

Miss World is now one of the most watched TV shows on the planet with more than 2 billion people tuning in through social media and the televised final that is broadcast to 100 countries globally. 

Reigning Miss World is Toni-Ann Singh of Jamaica who was crowned on 14 December 2019 in London, England 

Miss World America Rules

What are the phases of competition?

Interview, Evening Gown, Runway, Optional Talent, On-Stage Question, Multimedia, Beauty With a Purpose

Age range

13 - 26 years

State where the pageant is held?

Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming

Filter By