Over 632.4K Daily Active Readers:


United States National Pageants

crown_bullet_2x-icon.svg51 review

About United States National Pageants

The Miss United States organization of today was trademarked just 10 years ago in 2005, even though the first Miss United States pageant took place in 1925. Throughout history there were at times more than one Miss United States pageant. The modern day Miss United States organization was trademarked by Isabella Illacqua, the owner of the Mrs. United States Inc. of New York, and is now recognized as the fastest growing and #2 top ranked pageant in the world. From 1995-2005 the pageant was trademarked as the “Ms. United States” pageant.

Contestants in the Miss United States pageant compete from all 50 United States, the District of Colombia, Puerto Rico, Guam, the U.S. Virgin Islands and the American Samoa. Miss United States contestants must be a United States citizen between the ages of 20 and 29 as of July 1st, natural born female, never been married or given birth, and must have never posed nude in film or print media.

Contestants compete in four phases of competition: private interview, sportswear or swimsuit, evening gown and onstage question.

The newly crowned Miss United States goes on to work with her chosen platform, as well as the Miss United States charitable partners Relay for Life and the American Cancer Society, throughout her reign. She also competes at the International Miss World competition. Miss United States 2014 Elizabeth Safrit was second runner-up at this year’s Miss World competition held in London.

Rules of United States National Pageants

  • Are you allowed to be married?


  • Are you allowed to have kids?


  • Who is allowed to compete?


  • What are the phases of competition?

    Evening Gown, Swimsuit/Fitness, Interview, Onstage Question